4x5 field camera plans?

Discussion in 'Camera Building, Repairs & Modification' started by cooltouch, Jan 4, 2009.

1. cooltouch

cooltouch Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hi Folks,

I'm new to the APUG forums and have conducted a few searches here regarding the subject line, which have borne some fruit, but not specifically for plans for a 4x5 field camera.

I build custom guitars, have my own lathe and mill in addition to all sorts of other woodworking tools, both powered and hand. I have wanted for some time to try my hand at building a nice little field camera. I'm figuring it can't be any harder to build than a guitar, eh? Er . . .

I didn't really want to go the kit route, besides I see that Bender has now closed its doors, so that's out, regardless.

You know, I can buy sets of excellent drawings for dozens of different guitars, made from world-class builders, but I haven't been able to find anything equivalent to this for, say, a Deardorff or a Gandolfi. Guess I'm a bit surprised about this.

So, given that I've come up with pretty much zilch trying to google this infio, I'm hoping that somebody here might be able to point me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance.

Best,

Michael

2. Pinholemaster

Pinholemaster Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    I'd look at a cheap Tachihara camera for your foundation, and then apply your quality wood working ability to make your camera.

I have no idea if drawing exist on-line. There got to be someone at a Houston area camera club, or professional studio, who has a camera from which you can make your own drawings.

http://www.kenrockwell.com/tech/tachihara.htm

3. DannL

DannL Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format