50mm focal length for street?

Discussion in 'Street' started by pollux, Jun 19, 2010.

1. pollux

pollux Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    is a 100mm lens on 6x9 ie 44mm, or a 50mm on a 35mm an ideal street lens? Longer than 50mm and the shoots look bland, not showing enough of the environment, and any wider than 50mm and you will have to get near in their face, then people tend to pose or object to the camera.

2. Don Parsons

Don Parsons Member

Shooter:
    35mm RF
    Winogrand used a 28mm and got close. I like a 35mm on 35mm. 50 is too much of a telephoto.

ymmv

3. Erik Petersson

Erik Petersson Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm
    50mm is perfect. But so is 35, 28 and 24, to my mind.

4. benjiboy

benjiboy Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    A 50mm lens is fine for street most of them are f2 and faster I use mine as a telephoto to get a bit closer than my favourite street lens a 35mm F2

5. trent_

trent_ Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I started shooting street with a 50mm f1.8, but some rolls later I bought a 28mm because I find it easier to include 100% of the subject in my photos with it.

6. lxdude

lxdude Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    When did a 50 become a telephoto?

7. hoffy

hoffy Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Ditto. I personally like the 50 and the field of view

8. michaelbsc

michaelbsc Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    For me it happened when I got my first 35mm lens. I soon decided that the ideal focal length (for my mind anyway) is same as the horizontal image frame.

For example I prefer a 35mm lens on my 35mm bodies, and I prefer a 127mm lens on 4x5.

Can\'t always get what you want however. Kinda hard to change the lens on old folders.

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 28, 2010
  9. benjiboy

benjiboy Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I meant as a telephoto as compared to my 35mm lens to get a little closer and give a narrower angle of view, I'm perfectly aware that a 50mm lens Isn't a telephoto.