A filter is....

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by snapecn88pa, Dec 7, 2008.

1. snapecn88pa

snapecn88pa Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    My first post and question but first... Greetings to one and all and...Merry Christmas.

Okay. As a complete novice I'm a little confused at to which UV to buy. I've been told I should by a UV if for no other reason than to protect my lens. But I've just been on Amazon and well, I ran away:confused:

Can anyone offer me a little guidance please!

My question is.....What's the difference (apart from price) between......
    A Hoya G or Green series UV.
    A Hoya HMC -UV.
    A Hoya pro digital protector.
    A Hama (coated on both sides) UV.
    A Hama UV HTMC Filter
    A B&W-UV with multi resistant coating.
    A Sigma EX DG Digitally Optimised UV Filter.

Cheers.
    Snaps.

2. JBrunner

JBrunner Moderator Staff Member Moderator

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    IMO the only real differences are in claims of performance and manufacturing technique. Maybe there is something more, but I am unaware of it. It's a pretty benign item so there will be plenty of marketing effort to say why a particular brand is the better choice. The "Hoya pro digital protector" doesn't seem to claim any UV performance, just protection and optical clarity. Quality usually follows price in regard to filters, at least to certain degree.

Oh, welcome to APUG BTW.

3. Monophoto

Monophoto Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Well, now that you mention it, the main difference is - - - price.