ACCESSORIES FOR 4 X 5 FORMAT

Discussion in 'Large Format Cameras and Accessories' started by Deryck, Dec 30, 2009.

1. Deryck

Deryck Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hi all,
    I am new to large format and I recently bought a 4x5 view camera on the bay, model name - "CAMBO CALUMET 45 SCX".:D. I am now going to need a lens (150mm.)???, a lensboard, and a filmback for 4x5 sheet-film.

Could any of you experienced, large format guys, advise me as to what model/type/size of the forementioned bits of kit I should look out for that would will fit this particular model and make of camera. I should mention in ending that my darkroom is already geared for 4x5.

Thanks for your time
    Deryck

2. DanielStone

DanielStone Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    hey deryck,

a 150mm lens is a good starter lens, as it is similar in field of view(FOV) to the 'standard' 50mm in 35mm format.

FYI: 35mm focal length x3 = equivalent focal length in 4x5 format 85mm(35mm)=240/250mm(4x5)

Intended usage: B/W, Color or both?

4x5 film holders are really cheap right now, with many listed on fleabay, craigslist, etc.... I got most of mine for $5-$8 each. fidelity elites are really nice. lisco regal's are nice as well. start out with 5 or so, so you can load a full 10 sht box of film, if you shoot color. I don't know of any b/w that comes in 10sht boxes

darkcloth, or focusing hood(tube). cambo made one, and its handy. make sure your bellows are light tight though before you use the camera. ebay again for these...

loupe. a $5 one from longs should work for starters, or a pair of 3x reading glasses from the 99c store work too. and if you lose either, then you don't have to worry about it that much. backups are helpful to have in this regard, IMO.

-Dan

3. bdial

bdial Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Your lens choice for your first one depends a little on the pictures you'd like to make. If I had only one, however, it would be a 210.