ADOX black and white papers.

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by Ektagraphic, Sep 18, 2009.

1. Ektagraphic

Ektagraphic Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hi Guys- I am fairly new to darkroom and I have been getting really good results working with Ilford paper! I like the Adox films and I hope to try their papers. What do you guys think of them?

2. Martin Aislabie

Martin Aislabie Subscriber

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    Adox make some top notch papers.

They are an interesting alternative to Ilford papers

Whether you prefer them to Ilford is a very personal choice.

You will need to try them to find out for yourself :smile:

Martin

3. Nate_smith9

Nate_smith9 Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I love adox paper in rc. I have not used the new fiber paper but there has been a huge buzz and my lab tech just got some 11x14 so i will get to see some results

4. mcfactor

mcfactor Member

Shooter:
    Med. Format RF
    You should also check out Emaks. Its a graded, slightly warm, fiber paper that is inexpensive and yeilds some beautiful tones. Both B&H and freestyle carry it.

5. Jim Edmond

Jim Edmond Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    I just made my first MCC print. The paper has rich blacks and is on a very white base. It seems to have a contrast range of about 0 to 4.5. I toned it in KRST 1:9 for 3 minutes. There was a slight warming during the first minute and not much after that. I've never used the original Agfa MCC, so can't make a comparison.

I don't know that I like it any better than Multigrade, though. What I really want is a replacement for Polywarmtone, which I believe Adox is working on.

6. Sal Santamaura

Sal Santamaura Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I suggest you compare sharpness or prints made on MB IV FB and MCC 110. In my experience, the former is the least sharp multigrade fiber paper ever, while the latter is the sharpest.