advice needed-wife is ditching digital and going film

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by wilfbiffherb, Jan 3, 2014.

1. wilfbiffherb

wilfbiffherb Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hi all,

Just after a bit of advice. I've been shooting film for just over 2 years now while my wife has been shooting digital. She has a Canon 7th but is fed up with the whole digital work flow. She wants to sell her digital and get into film because she prefers the look of b&w film and would rather work in the darkroom.

I'm after advice on what kind of 35mm to look into getting her. I shoot entirely medium format so I have no clue on 35mm slr's.

She will be shooting mostly portraits on both colour and b&w, she tends to shoot with wide apertures, mostly in natural light and some flash, and she needs the available lenses to be sharp. She's not too bothered about auto focus but she would like built in metering and perhaps some exposure compensation etc. Being a digital shooter I don't just want to throw and entirely manual slr at her.

So any suggestions?

2. baachitraka

baachitraka Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    If you guys have EF lenses, then I may recommend EOS film cameras that have good metering and auto-focusing capability.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Canon_EOS

Please, scroll down to film cameras section.

3. munz6869

munz6869 Subscriber

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    I agree - it's an easy transition from a Canon 7D to ANY of the previous Canon EOS film SLR's. I have an EOS 500n, 50e & 1v, and really, they are all just supporting bodies of varying build quality for the lenses. When I bought the 500n 'new' in the 90's - I thought it was the best thing since sliced bread and ran 100's of rolls through it - you can get these on ebay for loose change now! If you only have EF-s lenses, then get a 50mm f/1.8 - it'll fit both your 7D and any EOS film camera, is only $150 new, wide aperture and SHARP.

Marc!

4. paul_c5x4

paul_c5x4 Subscriber