Agfa fixer

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by Blighty, Feb 4, 2005.

1. Blighty

Blighty Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I recently tried to order some Ilford Hypam fixer, only to be told that it is no longer supplied by Ilford. I had to get Agfa Agefix instead, which I've never used before. In typical Agfa fashion, there is nothing about fixing times on the bottle. A cursory glance at Silverprint's catalogue suggests a similar fixing time as Hypam. This is rather too vague for me, and I was wondering if anyone had something a little more in depth regarding fixing times. Regards, BLIGHTY

2. TPPhotog

TPPhotog Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    WHAT !!!! Not that I'm doubting you but where did you hear it? I'm asking as Jessops are still supplying it :surprised:

3. ann

ann Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm
    my dealer just got a whole new shipment of ilford fixer. it was a bit late but it did arrive

4. TPPhotog

TPPhotog Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Forgot to say that the data sheet that came with the paper should contain the times. Agfa Agefix for MCC 111 is 1 to 3 minutes at 20C.

5. Mark Layne

Mark Layne Member

Does Agefix contain hardener?
    Mark

6. Tom Hoskinson

Tom Hoskinson Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    No, no hardener, according to the Agfa Agefix MSDS.

The contents of Agefix follow:

Ammonium Thiosulfate

Sodium Acetate

Boric Acid

Sodium Sulfite

Water

Thus, Agefix is an Ammonium Thiosulfate based rapid, non-hardening fixer. Its pH is buffered and is mildly acidic.

The Agefix MSDS:
    http://www.madsens.com.au/new/darkroom/Agfa_SDS/MSDS Agefix Concentrate.pdf

7. m_liddell

m_liddell Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
  8. Blighty

Blighty Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format