Alternative to C-22 Processing?

Discussion in 'Color: Film, Paper, and Chemistry' started by mmdesign, Jul 13, 2009.

1. mmdesign

mmdesign Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I have four rolls of Kodacolor X film that my father shot and was wondering if there was an alternative developer to the expensive C-22 processing?

Thanks in advance for any input.

2. mts

mts Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    It could be processed as a conventional black & white negative, but you definitely want to try a clip from of one roll before souping all the film. It's likely to have a high fog level and not produce images that are particularly usable. Perhaps PE might suggest a starting point? Perhaps D-76 for about 6 minutes?

3. mmdesign

mmdesign Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Sorry, I'm rather new to all of this, what/who's PE?

4. Ian Grant

Ian Grant Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Some people have processed it by hand (not a lab) in C41 developer at 20°C, the colours won't be perfect, then bleach & fix as normal.

Alternately you could mix up the C22 chemistry from scratch, the formulae have been published. This is the best option if you have access to chemicals. Otherwise B&W in ID-11/D76.

Welcome to APUG BTW.

Ian

5. mmdesign

mmdesign Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Thanks for the info (and the welcome!). I searched for the C-22 formula but was unable to find it. If you have a link, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks again.

6. Ian Grant

Ian Grant Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I don't have a link, but I'm sure it'll be on-line somewhere, it's not very complex. I have various C-22 formulae back in the UK in publications but I'm not there for a while.

It's possible I have something here but I can't scan it, but could photograph it & email to you, normally I scan & OCR. I do have 3 pages from 1961 on processing Kodacolor, by then it's C22 :D