Anyone use double weight RC paper?

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by Arcturus, Oct 21, 2013.

1. Arcturus

Arcturus Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Ilford offers a double weight RC paper that looks interesting. Does anyone have any experience with this paper? I've been getting good results with RC paper and am mulling over a switch to fiber paper but don't know if it's worth the extra cost and effort. Is double weight RC paper a viable alternative, or is there no substitute for fiber paper?

2. miha

miha Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Ilford Portfolio is my preferred RC paper, but it's even dearer that their FB paper. I have no experience with the new version of this paper which was released two years ago.

3. MattKing

MattKing Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    The Ilford Postcard paper is on the double weight Portfolio stock. If you join in the APUG Postcard exchanges you will get to see how it holds up to the rigours of the postal system.

The heavier paper is nice to work with, and more durable if the prints are going to be handles a lot. Otherwise, the regular Ilford RC paper is of similar, very high quality.

4. BMbikerider

BMbikerider Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    The double weight RC paper is almost the same price as FB paper so there is no competition really except it takes a lot less washing afterwards

5. Arcturus

Arcturus Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    That sounds good, I think I'll give it a try.

6. RalphLambrecht

RalphLambrecht Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    if you intent to sell your prints,there is no substitude to FBpaper.has to do with perceived valueand your reputation as a printer.it's worth the extra money and effort.you cannot advertise 'archival'quality otherwise.

7. Arcturus

Arcturus Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format