APUG "RSS" Latest Posts Feed For External Sites

Discussion in 'APUG System Announcements' started by Sean, Jun 9, 2004.

1. Sean

Sean Admin Staff Member Admin

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    We now have RSS running.

This will allow people to receive a feed of the latest threads posted on APUG. This may be included into a webpage or RSS reader to provide an automatically updated latest threads display outside of APUG.

I am new to this and do not know much about it yet. But if you have a device or webpage that can use an RSS feed you can now have that page display the most recent APUG forum posts.

The url to our RSS feed is: http://www.apug.org/forums/external.php

As an example I have tested it with yahoo.com. If you have a Yahoo account you can configure your main Yahoo homepage and add an RSS feed, then plug in our RSS url listed above. The result is the screenshot below. Pretty nifty :smile:

[​IMG]

2. Jeremy

Jeremy Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I just head over to the site myself, but for someone who has their own webpage or a set homepage (Opera opens back to the last pages you were on so APUG is theoretically always one of my homepages) this is great feature!

3. Sean

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    It looks like the Yahoo homepage RSS feeds are still a new feature and in beta, so they don't appear to update regularly enough. If anyone has some additional RSS resources or tricks please post them here.

4. Sean

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I found this to be interesting, an RSS Reader, similar to an email client.

http://www.sharpreader.net/index.html

You put in your RSS feeds apug,bbc news, sports, etc and it's all displayed in this app. Going to try it (might cut down on my surfing at work :wink:)

5. Sean

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Have installed it and it's a great little app! superb :smile:

6. Sean

Shooter:
    Multi Format