Are you self taught or did you formal training?

Discussion in 'Ethics and Philosophy' started by Ricus.stormfire, Dec 14, 2012.

are you self taught or not?

1. Yes, I am

57.8%
  2. No I have had formal training

10.8%
  3. Yes and no

29.4%
  4. I don't know what I am doing

2.0%
  1. Ricus.stormfire

Ricus.stormfire Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I am self taught, I did not receive any training, I didn't study photography. everything I know comes from books, the internet and trial and error. I really wanted to study photography when I was younger, but the cost involved where too high at the time....so I taught myself. How about you?

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 14, 2012
  2. markbarendt

markbarendt Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Mostly self taught.

3. rjhelms

rjhelms Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Pretty much entirely self-taught. My high school had some photography and darkroom courses, but I didn't take them - convinced one of the teachers to give me a crash darkroom course but didn't do anything with the knowledge for over a decade.

Came back to it this past summer and have been entirely self-taught with lots of time at the library, online, with my camera and in the darkroom since. Still a long way to go.

4. BradS

BradS Subscriber

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    I have almost no formal education in photography. I took a summer school class when I was twelve and that set the hook. The rest has all come from reading books, practice and most importantly, I think, taking notes. I didn't really learn much until I started taking notes.

5. Steve Smith

Steve Smith Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Self taught in just about everything I do now.

Steve.

6. Slixtiesix

Slixtiesix Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Completely self-taught. Started reading books about photography when I was 15, later learned a lot through the web.

7. Konical

Konical Subscriber

Good Afternoon,

Still continuing the process.