Asked to take a portrait - help!

Discussion in 'Portraiture' started by Craig, Feb 7, 2014.

1. Craig

Craig Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    A friend of mine has been hitting the gym and lost a lot of weight; now he wants me to take a nude/semi nude photo of him to give to his girlfriend. I've never done people photos like this before, especially in a studio type setting.

Any tips for lighting, background etc? I'm more of a landscapes sort of guy and just work with natural light. Work does have a modest pair of strobes I could borrow with an umbrella for taking the "new employees" headshot.

I've got a Nikon F6 and Df with an SB800 speedlight, as well as MF and LF cameras and the usual sort of lenses. I'm a complete newbie to indoor people pictures, so I'm looking for a primer on lighting and backgrounds. Links to such resources would be great, I'm in the "I don't know what I don't know" stage.

I've only ever done one other people shot before, and I just treated him like a landscape! That won't work in winter here, since it was -30 this week.
    http://www.apug.org/gallery1/showimage.php?i=3684&catid=member&imageuser=1719

2. omaha

omaha Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Has he shown you examples of what he has in mind? That's where I'd start.

3. Craig

Craig Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Alas no. I can ask that and go from there.

4. Tom1956

Tom1956 Inactive

Shooter:
    Large Format
    Just say you don't do nudie pictures. That's the best ticket. If I asked my buddy for such a thing, he'd think I was a.... (not PC).

5. omaha

omaha Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    That's what I'd do. Find a few that he likes and study the posing/light/background/etc and just replicate it. I assume he knows you're in a learning mode, so he shouldn't be expecting any stunning feats of artistic creativity here.

6. patrickth

patrickth Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format