At last, my formal introduction

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the APUG Community' started by Richard Boutwell, Sep 23, 2004.

1. Richard Boutwell

Richard Boutwell Subscriber

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    After more than a year of lurking is the shadows of APUG and Photo.net I have decided that is time to actively participate in these wonderful and interesting communities.

My name: Richard John-Henry Boutwell

Occupation: assistant and apprentice to Michael A. Smith and Paula Chamlee

Place of residence: Doylestown, Pennsylvania

Brief self description: A willfully displaced Southern Californian desert rat living on the wrong coast--learning how to live as everyone dreams, but rarely does.

After beginning as a musician, I was surprised when I found photographs to be my true form of creative expression. Directly out of high school I was offered a chance to be a working jazz bassist in New Orleans. I thought my dreams were coming true and I spent the majority of my time preparing for the move from where I grew up, in the desert of Southern California.

The majority of that summer was spent practicing, sometime during which, I was given a 35 mm camera. After that, my time was spent doing things other than music--mainly hiking and taking pictures. I thought I could put off the move until I learned a little about photography. That was a roughly four years ago, and in those four years I all but quit music. I went from using a 35mm camera and getting color, one-hour prints, to exclusively making black and white contact prints-mostly with an 8x10 inch view camera.