Awaiting the passing of a loved one.

Discussion in 'Exposure Discussion' started by guitstik, Oct 22, 2010.

1. guitstik

guitstik Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I am at a crossroads as I write this as our immediate family is gathered around expecting a grand matriarc of ours to pass ending a long and protracted suffering. She has been in hospice care for some time now and she has been deteriorating at a rapid pace but just this past Monday her oldest child left us unexpectedly and I fear that the news of his demise has excellerated her condition.

The problem I am having is that as a photographer I am wanting to record the love , respect and high regard that we hold for her. My intent is not to capitalize on her pain but to exposite those around her as the family that she has watched over and reared over the years and are now paying the respect and admiration that she deserves. The question then becomes, should I or would that be an intrusion into a somber occasion?

Joel

2. ath

ath Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Do it, with respect, but do it. Talk to the others about it so they understand what you are after.

3. Mike Wilde

Mike Wilde Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Go low key. A simple manual cameral loaded with tri x pushed, etc.

Do the simple stuff. Existing light. Medium wide angle, so some dof in existing light. Zone focus, or if too dim, string length focus.

A close up of a younger one holding her hand.

A pictture of any valued photos etc, arranged by her bedside.

Make it just a sideline of your dropping by to visit.

Make the time to vist with maybe a dozen images. The visiting will stay with you with an image or two to remind you of the time you spent.

Time spent photographing without making the conversation is not the same.

Do be pragmatic. Find out when she might be more alert, as opposed to napping.

See if it lines up with when the highest levels of available light occur.

4. la.triglia

la.triglia Member

Shooter: