Barcelona

Discussion in 'Geographic Location' started by henrysamson, Dec 22, 2010.

1. henrysamson

henrysamson Subscriber

Shooter:
    Large Format
    I'm going to be visiting Barcelona next month. Any galleries or shows I should check out? I'm an avid analog photographer, mostly large format.

Thanks in advance!

Henry

2. TheFlyingCamera

TheFlyingCamera Membership Council Council

Shooter:
    Multi Format
  3. Robert Hall

Robert Hall Subscriber

Shooter:
    ULarge Format
    Have a good time. Keep a good hold on your equipment. If you will be there for a while, apply for a tripod permit at the Gaudy house.

I hear there's a cool church there too. :wink:

4. henrysamson

henrysamson Subscriber

Shooter:
    Large Format
    Thanks for the advice. I'm not sure what I will be taking. Maybe a 35mm camera with a couple of lenses. I travel a lot with 5x7 or 8x10 but I think I just want to travel with only a small backpack on this trip.

5. TheFlyingCamera

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Henry- if you're only taking 35mm, the sky's the limit as to what and where you can shoot. Barcelona is a photographer's delight, just be aware that in the Barri Gotic (the area around the old Cathedral) the streets are extremely narrow and the contrast will be very high, as the shadows cast by the buildings can be pretty deep. Barcelona is very safe in general, even Las Ramblas (just be reasonably cautious and you'll be fine).

6. David Henderson

David Henderson Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    The thing that best separates Barcelona from any number of other Mediterranean cities is the architecture of Gaudi. There are a number of sites ( which your guidebook will cover) though IMO the best photographically is Casa Mila (aka La Pedrera) in the centre of the city. In good light the photograohy of and from the roof near sunset is outstanding.