Bedeviled by TMax

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by joeyk49, May 26, 2005.

1. joeyk49

joeyk49 Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I've been printing PanF (35mm) for a few months now, with limited success.

(I'm a newbie, so I'll take what I get. Just producing discernable images is half the battle for me.)

But I recently attempted to print a frame from a roll of TMax and found that I wasn't developing anything on my test strips. My usual timing for test strip exposure is about 7 seconds per, until I get close to what I'm looking for. With my lens stopped to f11 or 16, I usually see print times in the 18-35 second range.

So, I kept increasing times to a max of about 65 seconds! I finally got an image to develop...

What gives?

If I remember correctly, the Tmax is ISO400 and the PanF is 50. Is it differences in films, emulsions, layers, densities...or, (what I really think it is) am I messing something up???

2. Paul Sorensen

Paul Sorensen Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    It has to be that your negatives are really dark. That or something is wrong with your enlarger just when you started on the TMax.

Just to check, are you using the same paper, fresh developer, and printing the negative to the same amount of magnification as with the PanF?

Also, take a look at both negs on a light table or at least hold them up to a light. If there is this much difference between the printing times, there would have to be a very large difference in apparent density of the negs. If not, than it is probably evil spirits or something. You may also want to try printing the PanF negs right after having the problem with the Tmax, just to make sure that you are not having a problem with the enlarger that just started happening.