Been lurking for a while, here I am - Greetings from central Ontario!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the APUG Community' started by rjhelms, Oct 13, 2012.

1. rjhelms

rjhelms Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Hi all,

Been lurking here for a few months and thought I'd say Hi. Name's Rob, and I live in Peterborough, Ontario, in the elusive Canadas.

I've been doing film photography for about 4 months now. I'm primarily using a Minolta Maxxum 7000i which I found for free online years ago, but didn't touch for the longest time. Before that, I'd only ever really used point-and-shoot cameras (film and digitial) on holidays, etc. I don't really know what possessed me to get seriously into film photography this past summer, but since I started I've been averaging shooting 2 or 3 rolls of 35mm every week. I pretty quickly got into doing my own B&W development & scanning. Recently, I was amazingly given an Omega B-600 enlarger and a Canon AE-1 (with a nice selection of lenses) by a local amateur photographer who switched over to digital a few years ago, who I met on Twitter.

I just finished setting up a quick-and-dirty darkroom on Wednesday night, and have been having a ton of fun learning the very basics of the art of printing over the past few days. I am finding that, as I am still very slowly learning the "art" side of photography, also being able to work on the "craft" side of developing and printing has really helped keep me very interested and motivated.

I've largely been doing concert photography - available light shots of local bands, which has led to some dubious cases of me pushing film farther than it should do - and some "urban" protography. Not sure if it's quite "street", whatever that means: things like views through shop windows, monuments and public buildings, etc. I was just recently visiting Toronto (my home town) and spent about an hour photographing the Allen Expressway (highway and subway tracks.)