Beginner having trouble printing

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by IOS, Jan 19, 2008.

1. IOS

IOS Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Im a beginner and i tried to print a 35mm. When i took it out of the fixer the print was beautiful and sharp with alot of detail. After it dried it was garbage ! it was so flat and dull with all the sharpness totaly gone. Does anyone know why this happened after it dried ? Thank you for your response.

First image is the original negative scan
    Second image is the print that went bad after it dried
    Third image is another print that went bad when it dried

Attached Files:

• 119.jpg
      119.jpg
      File size:
      114.7 KB
      Views:
    • hc-1101.jpg
      hc-1101.jpg
      File size:
      278.8 KB
      Views:
    • c.jpg
      c.jpg
      File size:
      59.8 KB
      Views:
  2. Snapshot

Snapshot Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    How long did you fix the print? How long was your wash cycle? Resin coated or fibre? Matte or glossy. I'm guess you used matte resin coated, multigraded VC paper. If there was insufficient washing time, you can get dull, lifeless prints.

3. IOS

IOS Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Sorry i forgot to post the info

trees and hill

Paper Ilford satin multigrade rc
    Developer kodak hc-110 Dul 2-15.5 for 1 minute
    Stopbath kodak for 10 sec
    Fixer kodafix for 2 minutes
    Rinse for 5 minutes
    Exposure F11 for 30 sec

Cemetery
    Paper Ilford satin multigrade rc
    Developer kodak hc-110 Dul 2-15.5 for 1 minute
    Stopbath kodak for 10 sec
    Fixer kodafix for 2 minutes
    Rinse for 5 minutes
    Exposure f8 for 20 sec

4. hal9000

hal9000 Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hi, HC-110 is a film developer, I don't think it is particularly good for paper. Try Dektol instead. Hal

5. IOS

IOS Member

Shooter:
    35mm

I also tried r09 and got the same results.

6. Uhner

Uhner Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format