Beginning tool sets

Discussion in 'Camera Building, Repairs & Modification' started by Absinthe, Apr 4, 2008.

1. Absinthe

Absinthe Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    I am just getting started, and looking for recomendation of tools. I have started with Romney's book and picked up a few things here and there.

Well, I have needed the flexiclamp, so I know they are necessary tools for the job they do, however, what are the basic gotta-have sizes?

2. richard ide

richard ide Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Could give recommendations if I knew what you wished to do.

3. Absinthe

Absinthe Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    That's fair :smile:

Basically, I want to find common cameras that are workable but old and bring them back into service. There is a much bigger story to this, but for now, all I am looking for is what I will need most comonly, and then I will get other stuff onsie-twosie as needed. I am not looking to become the next greatest camera repairman, but for the most part, acl's shutter servicing, tha tsort of thing, on 120, and 620 stuff mostly as well as the odd manual 35 mm and some commonly available lf stuff

4. richard ide

richard ide Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    First and foremost: Buy the best quality possible as that is the cheapest in the long run. Good tools last forever almost. I like working on small items over a tray with sides. Sometimes things are hard to find on the floor.

Set of jewellers screwdrivers
    Small pliers including fine needle nose.
    Couple of heavy, wide rubber bands for unscrewing lenses etc.
    Toothpicks and Q-tips
    Small containers to hold parts in the same order you remove them.

The list could go on and on; you know what you need
    Try to find a company that sells watchmaking tools.
    Google Lee Valley Tools for watchmakers cases for container idea.

5. John Koehrer

John Koehrer Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format