Beseler 23CIII-XL ?

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by bvy, Apr 19, 2011.

1. bvy

bvy Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I only this spring began developing my own black and white film, but I've been making paper negatives (from pinhole cameras) for a few years. Naturally, I want an enlarger, and I've been casually looking for one. I will want to print 35mm and 120 black and white.

This week, an aquaintance in another state offered me an enlarger. She doesn't know if it works, but says she got it from an auction and that it's in its original packaging. It's definitely been used. It appears to be this:
    Beseler 23CIII-XL Photographic Dichro Color Enlarger

I've done some research, and this doesn't look like a starter enlarger. It looks prety advanced. As such, I'm not even sure what questions to ask about its condition. First of all, is this too much enlarger for a beginner? If not, what are the most important things to ask about on this or any enlarger? I think I should ask about lens, lens boards, negative carriers, and bulbs. But what specifically? What do these things usually come with out of the box? I think this person knows less about enlargers than I do. The blind leading the blind, perhaps. Maybe I should just ask for pictures...

2. ann

ann Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm
    They are a great little enlarger. Be sure the bellows don't leak, and of course as you have already suggested knowing about the lens, negative carriers will be helpful.

What is the asking price?

3. craigclu

craigclu Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format