Bessa R for $180

Discussion in 'Rangefinder Forum' started by revdocjim, Jan 18, 2011.

1. revdocjim

revdocjim Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I'm interested in picking up an inexpensive rangefinder, and my daughter (17) is quite interested too. I have an old Pen EE that I let her play with and she loved the change of pace from her DSLR, and the "cool retro look". :smile:

So I've come across a Bessa R for about $180 in very good condition but with no lens. I'm pretty new to the rangefinder world and wanted to get some feedback on whether that is a good deal or not.

My daughter would probably not have the patience to work with a camera that didn't have metering built in so I'm hesitant to go for something that is completely manual.

We would end up sharing it because I've recently been carrying around a Klasse and enjoying it a lot.

Any advice or feedback would be greatly appreciated.

2. elekm

elekm Member

Shooter:
    35mm RF
    It's an excellent camera and a good place to start. With any Cosina Voigtlander Bessa, make sure that the rangefinder is in calibration vertically and horizontally. It's not terribly difficult to adjust yourself, but it's best if you have one that's correct from the start. This seems to be a thing that Cosina is unable to correct.

Otherwise, it's a very nice camera. I owned one for several years and used it extensively for a couple of years.

There's a review of it on my site.

3. Taslim Abdani

Taslim Abdani Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I paid about $270.00 for my Bessa R but it came with a 50mm Jupitar lens and some other accessories. You could probably pick up a Jupitar lens rather cheaply from ebay or from Fedka (he is reputable). The Bessa R takes screwmount lenses. Good luck.

4. elekm

elekm Member

Shooter:
    35mm RF