"Best" color film

Discussion in 'Color: Film, Paper, and Chemistry' started by Jaime Marin, Aug 3, 2011.

1. Jaime Marin

Jaime Marin Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I say best in quotation marks because I realize that sometimes the "Best" one is the one you know and use the most. Anyways I have been using Kodak Porta 400 for a bit and I like the look of it but was wondering if anyone has any suggestions as to anything that might be considered THEE standard color film? And yes I am very new to photography so be easy!

2. Klainmeister

Klainmeister Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    Well, we get these questions about every week. What you really need to be asking is what color film is "best" for your application. Portra is probably the standard for people work, Ektar maybe for more landscape negative color film, Velvia for landscape slide, and Provia for people slide. These are just guesses, but really we'd need to know what your intentions are before even offering an opinion on the "best".

Just my $.02

3. Gerald C Koch

Gerald C Koch Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Jamie,

Once again another open ended question. What you will get is 100 posts and 100 opinions. What do you consider to be features for consideration. Format, speed. color balance, ...

4. Jaime Marin

Jaime Marin Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    well im shooting some friends that ride bmx and skate so I guess people would be my application.

5. 2F/2F

2F/2F Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    For "standard" I don' think you can beat Fuji Reala. It lives up to it's name; it is very accurate. It's color rendition reminds me of a color neg version of T64, for lack of a better comparison.

This being said, I think Kodak's Portra films are absolutely beautiful in the character they impart to images.