Best way to heat up Chems

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by cherryrig, Jan 20, 2009.

1. cherryrig

cherryrig Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Right at the moment when I'm developing I pour out my fix which is already mixed up, and then I add some hot water to a little tray, to help to get it up to the right temp. However this sometimes takes quite a while to get it to around 20C. So by the time I've loaded the film onto the reel and then used the developer it's about time. However it takes a lot of prep time.

Therefore I was wondering what the best way is to get chems to the right temp. Is there like a tray heater thing you can get or something??

I'm not sure as I'm quite new to developing really

Cheers

2. Stock Dektol

Stock Dektol Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    You can use a hot plate... but then you need a stainless steel beaker, cast iron tray or.... you could use an emersion circulator which is like a probe that will go in a liquid and heat it.

3. Anon Ymous

Anon Ymous Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Actually, fixer's temperature is not critical. It just shouldn't be way off. If you keep the fixer solution in room temperature, it shouldn't be a problem, provided that you don't live in an igloo :tongue:

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 20, 2009
  4. cherryrig

cherryrig Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    So say if my fix is around 15C which is what it normally comes out at. Would that be fine?

Also how many films untill I should use a new batch of fix??

5. jmcd

jmcd Member