Black Hair on Print removal

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by Bob Carnie, Sep 23, 2013.

1. Bob Carnie

Bob Carnie Subscriber

Shooter:
    Med. Format RF
    I need to remove black hairs that are on a few prints.

I have done bleach enhancement but never spotted prints to remove hairs or dust marks.

Any tips?? I am thinking of spotting on dry print and following up my spots with a dab of fix until the mark is removed.

Then refixing the whole print toning , hypo clear and normal wash.

help require from those who do this type of thing.

thanks
    Bob

2. MartinP

MartinP Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Sheet negs from darkslides? Might it be more practical to fill in on the negs and then retouch on the print, as it's often easier (for me, but I'm a clumsy amateur for a few decades now...) to add density than remove it. The only times I tried knifing it left a noticeable surface-texture mark, even if the density was ok-ish.

Re-reading, it sounds as though it might be too late for neg-work though, sorry.

3. Bob Carnie

Bob Carnie Subscriber

Shooter:
    Med. Format RF
    yes supplied neg , murals are done, in future I will work on neg to remove the hair, but right now I need to bleach retouch

4. Ian Grant

Ian Grant Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Knife them with a fine scalpel blade it's quite easy, use a gummed envelope (drop or two water and ant retouching dye needed) and a spotting brush to cover up the knife marks. It's far easier than it sounds. It was the standard technique for over a century. and it does work :D

Ian

5. cliveh

cliveh Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm RF
    Keep the cat out of the darkroom.

6. MartinP

MartinP Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Well, it was probably not a cat in a darkroom, but a dusty/dirty darkslide or changing-bag leaving a hair on the film-surface at the time of exposure. That unexposed area on the film then makes the black line on the print.