Blank film with RB67

Discussion in 'Medium Format Cameras and Accessories' started by BetterSense, Mar 17, 2012.

1. BetterSense

BetterSense Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I just developed 2 rolls of film from my RB67 that came out completely blank. I have no idea how that happened. Luckily I can reshoot, but it's pretty alarming.

The edge markings are developed and I just used the developer to develop some negatives within the last week, so I don't think the developer died on me. I didn't put the fix in first, because the edge markings are there.

I'm not an expert with the RB67 but I've shot a few rolls through it since I got it. The camera has been sitting for a while, but it worked last I used it. I didn't leave the dark slide in, because I remember taking it out and the RB won't fire with the darkslide in anyway. It was slightly overcast weather so I don't think I could have underexposed that much even if I tried--it's 400 speed film and the camera only goes up to 1/250th of a second and f/32. I suppose the only explanation is that the lens shutter did not fire. Any other ideas?

2. markbarendt

markbarendt Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Dark slide?

Is the shutter working?

3. Chris Nielsen

Chris Nielsen Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Is the lens mirror up knob set to M or N ???

4. BetterSense

BetterSense Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    It turns out that the little knob-thing on the lens is important.

This is the first time I used this lens and it turns out the mirror-up was set, so the shutter never fired.

O well.

5. brucemuir

brucemuir Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Bettersense to learn now :cool:

Don't feel bad I loaded a hasselblad wrong once and shot one roll on the paper.

6. rhcgn

rhcgn Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Same thing happened to me in Lisbon a few weeks ago, taking portraits of someone I met on the street. (can't re-shoot this) I hope I will never forget the MLU again.

-Roman

7. markbarendt