Bolex anyone!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Equipment' started by ic-racer, Aug 23, 2008.

1. ic-racer

ic-racer Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I recall a thread a while back discussing the merits of having a cine forum. I guess that never happened. Well I have been shooting B&W 8mm for about 8 years now. Here is one of my Bolex Reflex cameras. Again, this is 8mm, so with a 100ft roll I get as much running time as the 16mm camera with the big 400ft magazine on top.

I'm using ISO 100 reversal B&W. I was just shooting with the camera today. I have two other Bolexes also. One has the EE zoom and the other has a f0.9 Switar lens on it.

[​IMG]

2. sun of sand

sun of sand Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    They are very handsome.

3. ic-racer

ic-racer Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Just some more info for those interessted.

The lenses are little optical gems. They have preset-levers so you can rapidly open them up for focusing (of course all viewing while shooting is done at working aperture, thus the absolute requirement for the eye hood)

The shortest one is 5.5mm retrofocus and the longest is 35mm. The short one is like a 40mm lens on a 35mm camera.

Bolex has an unusual shutter angle, and that, coupled with the light loss from the full-time viewing prism can lead to errors in exposure estimation. The Gossen/Bolex meter takes care of everything. I use a zinc battery in it.

Due to the magnification of the viewfinder image, the center lens (12mm) has the effect of being a "normal" lens (ie both your eyes open, the images are similar size). Compared to still photography, it is a long lens, approximating a 75mm lens on a 35mm camera. So, in effect the "normal" lens is what a still photographer may call a " portrait " lens.

4. ben-s

ben-s Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    It looks a real gem, in lovely condition. Thanks for sharing.
    I'd like to get a 16mm at some point, although it looks like it costs a lot to feed them.