Bought a Weston Master II over the weekend

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Equipment' started by Mainecoonmaniac, Mar 18, 2013.

1. Mainecoonmaniac

Mainecoonmaniac Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I Bought a Weston Master II over the weekend for $6 at the thrift store. I seems to work. Does anybody have experience with one? It looks like it's it excellent condition.

2. chriscrawfordphoto

chriscrawfordphoto Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I've seen a lot of those old Weston meters, but none of them were accurate anymore. The Selenium cells were worn out, so they didn't read high enough. They were neat meters, with a great calculator dial that had marks for the highlight and shadow placements. An incident light dome that looks like an inverted cone was made for them; as the description suggests, Weston called the attachment an Invercone!

3. newcan1

newcan1 Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm
    I have a Westonmaster II and a couple of III's. I think they are awesome and trust them as much as any modern camera matrix or center weighted meter. Obviously, the best way to see what you think is to take it for a spin and see what results you get.

4. Mainecoonmaniac

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hey thanks! I'll have to take it for a spin and compare it to my new Sekonic. With all this new solar technology, I'm surprised that camera manufacturers don't make an updated version with photovoltiacs. I have a selenium cell meter on my Zeiss Super Ikonta IV still works well. It's not coupled with my camera though.

5. mr rusty

mr rusty Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I have a II. The II uses the weston scale not ASA. Weston = 0.8 asa so 320 weston = 400 asa

6. BrianShaw

BrianShaw Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I still use a Weston III (two of them). Just check it against a meter known to be relibale and if it works OK then use and enjoy it.

7. MartinCrabtree

MartinCrabtree Member

Shooter:
    35mm