Breaking the Bank in Canada

Discussion in 'Alternative Processes' started by JohnMeadows, Aug 3, 2011.

1. JohnMeadows

JohnMeadows Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Rant/Frustration begins:

Is it possible to do pure alternative process (e.g. no digital negatives) in Canada without breaking the bank? The pain point seems to be getting the proper film stock for creating the enlarged digital negative. I was all set to buy 50 sheets of some 8x10 direct positive film from a supplier in the U.S. until I found out that the USPS delivery charge would turn my $50 order into a $100 order :sad:

Does anyone know of a source in Canada that sells the appropriate sheet film?

In the meantime it's back to the Hybrid process with Pictorio ... with the prices I am facing I can't afford to maintain pure analog karma.

2. jeffreyg

jeffreyg Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I'm not sure about Canada but I have been using x-ray duplicating film for many years to enlarge negatives for pt/pd printing. Kodak dental x-ray duplicating film XOMAT-2 with Kodak GBX chemistry. The film is not cheap but maybe your dentist can help you find it. 50 sheets approx. $130.
    It is an excellent film for that purpose as well as to dup x-rays. It stores well under refrigeration.

http://www.jeffreyglasser.com/

3. sly

sly Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I got tired very quickly of digital negatives (my printer seemed incapable of any consistency). I aquired an old 8x10 (spent more money on 6 film holders than I did on the camera) and do analogue alt prints (cyano, pt/pd, gum, combo prints, and am working on carbon) with both my 4x5 and 8x10 negs. I try to avoid buying from the States, not just because of the cost of shipping, but due to the crap shoot of Canada customs.

4. JohnMeadows

JohnMeadows Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format