Brisbane newbie

Discussion in 'Australia' started by seaninsurrey, Jan 12, 2008.

1. seaninsurrey

seaninsurrey Member

Shooter:
    35mm RF
    Hi everyone! I've just moved to Brisbane from the UK and am trying to find out if there is a local camera club. I'm relatively new to film, currently using a 35mm rangefinder but looking to buy a medium format camera soon. I develop my own negs but don't have the space to build a darkroom, so if you know of anywhere I can use that would be great! Thanks in advance, Sean.

2. copake_ham

copake_ham Inactive

Shooter:
    35mm
    Moved from the UK to Brisbane!

Well, after you get done blinking your eyes so much - that big yellow orb in the sky is call The Sun!

Welcome to APUG from NYC.

Geez, I'd like to get back Down Under someday soon too!

3. rootberry

rootberry Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    Sean, you are a very lucky guy. I miss brisbane so much, I loved it there... What brings you there?

4. seaninsurrey

seaninsurrey Member

Shooter:
    35mm RF
    Have been dating an Australian guy for a couple of years now - Brisbane is where he's from. Looking forward to being able to shoot some slow film, like the Adox CHS50 I've been storing! Not sure if you can buy it over here, will need to investigate!

5. Craig Griffiths

Craig Griffiths Member

Shooter:
    ULarge Format
    G'day Sean,

Brisbane is a little thin on the ground as far as Darkrooms for hire etc are concerned. However there is one at West End I have heard about that may be available. I will see if I can find the details for you

As far as camera clubs are concerned there are a few, however be prepared for a strongly digital bent, the reason I am no longer involved. Try looking at the Photographic society of Qld (www.psq.org.au) for camera club details.

6. Craig Griffiths

Craig Griffiths Member

Shooter:
    ULarge Format