Building a 120 rollfilm 6x8 or 6x9 view camera

Discussion in 'Camera Building, Repairs & Modification' started by Monito, Sep 15, 2011.

1. Monito

Monito Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I've been vaguely thinking of building a 4x5 view camera for some time, but since I don't have a 4x5 enlarger but I do have a B23C II capable up to 6x9, I just began to wonder about building a 6x8 or 6x9 view camera.

I'm very handy with my hands but I have no experience building anything beyond a pinhole camera (which worked nicely). I would like to design one with full back movements in a package suitable for field use, yaw-free if I can make it (but probably not). I've not seen or held a Shen-Hao, but if I were to buy 4x5 I think that would be my pick; thus I'm tempted to use that as the model. I don't think they are yaw-free but they do have back movements and are field cameras.

I have two basic questions at this point:

1) What 6x8 / 6x9 120 roll film backs would be best to fit to such a camera? I'm thinking the parameters would be ease of building a mating part and ease of use (putting on/off, winding film, dark slide).

2) Materials: I can do very fine work with wood, but I anticipate that a number of parts would best be in metal. I think that I could handle fabricating some small metal parts.

Thoughts? Or is this a fool's errand and I should just save up for a nice Shen-Hao and patiently wait for a used 4x5 enlarger to pop up at a price I can afford (not many available in this area)?

2. Jerevan

Jerevan Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm
    I am guessing you have a few long cold winter nights to spend up north ahead of you, right? :smile:

Have a look around at this page, there are some drawings and example of various LF cameras here:
    http://home.online.no/~gjon/

Maybe that'll help a bit along the way to figure out if it is worth the effort.

3. domaz

domaz Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format