Can anyone recommend a leak-proof table top developing tank?

Discussion in 'Darkroom Equipment' started by JDP, Mar 16, 2009.

1. JDP

JDP Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hello there,
    Firstly I am new to Apug, so hello all.

I would be grateful for any suggestions for a table-top developing tank which can be inverted without leaking. I have been using two paterson type 4 tanks for a long while (25yrs plus) and they are now leaking badly when inverted (they never were completely leak-proof). I have recently tried the rotation method of inversion again but this has resulted in uneven development (more development closer to the edge of the film). Not sure why (developer, perhaps?), it never used to happen.

So I think it is time to get some new tanks. Any suggetions would be gratefully recieved.

2. srs5694

srs5694 Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    My understanding is that 100% leak-proof tanks are about as common as unicorns. That said, stainless steel tanks are reputed to be a bit more resistant to leaks than plastic tanks, on average. My own SS tanks are less leaky than my plastic tanks.

The rotational method of agitation can work reliably, but some people find it tricky. You could try shooting a few test rolls and vary your rotation style (speed, intervals, etc.) to resolve this problem. FWIW, I've got an odd Russian tank that develops one roll of 120 film in 260ml of solution, but only supports rotational agitation. After a first abysmal result, I started using very vigorous and quick back-and-forth motion (perhaps 8-10 twists of about 90 degrees and then back again in 5 seconds) for my agitation cycle, and this works pretty well. After that first bad result, I posted here asking for advice, but I can't seem to find the thread. Some people got surprisingly emotional on the issue of agitation method.

3. Pinholemaster

Pinholemaster Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    Leak-proof?

Buy a new tank if yours are that old.

Good luck.

4. Nicholas Lindan