Can you process C-41 B/W film in B/W chemicals?

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by jasonjoo, Jul 17, 2007.

1. jasonjoo

jasonjoo Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hey folks,

I picked up a Holga and a few rolls of Ilford XP2 Super 400. Normally I would send off my film to a lab, but I am really itching to get into the dark room. I have no prior experience in there, but a good friend of mine does, and she is willing to teach me the ropes.

That said, I am unsure if the dark room I have access too is for b/w film only, or if it also has the C-41 chemicals. If it does not have the necessary chemicals for developing color film, could I process the XP2 in b/w chemicals? Will I get some weird results?

I leave for Brazil today with my church for a week, so sorry if I do not respond!

Thanks for your help,

Jason

2. bob100684

bob100684 Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    you can, but it won't turn out nearly as well as if you put it through c-41

3. pkrentz

pkrentz Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    XP-2

I have developed XP-1 (4x5) in ABC Pyro and had them turn out very well. Pat:D

4. htmlguru4242

htmlguru4242 Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    The word is that they turn out OK, but not great.

If you do a search here, you'll see lots of information on this topic.

5. nicolai

nicolai Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Here are some examples.

6. Kilgallb

Kilgallb Subscriber

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    Hmm, processing photos from a Holga in less than ideal chemicals that produce less than excellent results. Sounds like what Holga's are all about.

7. Thomas Bertilsson

Thomas Bertilsson Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    That's pretty unnecessary. "Excellent" is all in the eyes of the beholder. To me excellent = interesting. Holga cameras produce very interesting photography, in the hands of a skilled user. Why could you not use a Holga to see if C-41 films process well in b&w chemistry?