canon advice

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by bob100684, Sep 25, 2007.

1. bob100684

bob100684 Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    After a couple of years shooting film with an old nikon and digital with a canon drebel, I think its time to go for a canon film body so that I don't wind up having to double the lens collection. Does anyone here shoot with a canon film rebel? I've only handled one a couple times and honestly they felt cheap and light, is the elan a better bet, and how much functionality would I really be giving up by choosing a rebel over the elan or gaining choosing the elan over the rebel?

2. Dan Henderson

Dan Henderson Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    I had (still have but have not used in a long time) an Elan 7e that I liked alot. I moved up to an EOS3, which I cannot recommend highly enough. I have no experience with the Rebel so cannot compare it to the Elan, but I think you get some extra things like a stop down button on the elan that is missing on the Reb. Maybe a few more shooting modes too.

3. bob100684

bob100684 Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Thank you for the reply. Somehow I thought one of the rebels had a stop down button, but that would be an extremely nice feature. Does your elan have miror lock up? Also, any advice about a macro lens or which one would be appreciated. I'm looking at the 100mm version but would also consider some of the 3rd party lenses if they are up to snuff.

4. Lee Shively

Lee Shively Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I have a Rebel 2000--rather, my wife now has it since I don't use it anymore. It's not a bad camera but I'd definitely consider it a backup instead of a primary. In my opinion, the main shortcoming of the Rebels--digital and film--is the use of mirror prisms instead of glass prisms. Real prisms make for brighter viewfinders.