Canon Lens Coating Issue

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by Fotoguy20d, Jul 9, 2009.

1. Fotoguy20d

Fotoguy20d Subscriber

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    I'm looking to buy a Canon 70-200 f4L from a co-worker but the lens has some weird spots on the front glass (the protective "filter"). I suppose I could get that glass replaced but anyone have any idea what's causing this?

THanks,
    Dan

Attached Files:

2. hoffy

hoffy Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I'm no expert, that looks nearly organic. I won't say fungus....yet, as the fungus I have seen looks a bit more spider webby

3. archphoto

archphoto Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    Some kind of etching ?
    Is it realy on the front surface of the frontlens ?
    Having the frontlens replaced could be a tad expensive and I wonder if you would see any effect of it on your photo's.....

Put it onto your camera and see what kind of result you get and if it does not show up at high maginification get it for cheap.

Peter

4. Rol_Lei Nut

Rol_Lei Nut Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hello fungus my old friend....

Try keeping the lens on a sunny window sill for as long as possible (weeks, months) to kill/stop the growth.
    Try to determine if any inner elements are affected.
    Get an estimate for a clean-up.

A good way to bargain the price down, though.

5. hoffy

hoffy Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    As I thought. Fungus is treatable and if caught early enough will not damage the lens.

I have just had one cleaned from fungus. It was there and it was not overly big. It cost me $45Aust. I have to admit, I haven't seen a lens element as clean as the job that I had done!

Mind you, this was an enlarger lens. I could imagine a 70-200L might cost a tad more, especially if then need to get down to the nitty gritty

6. Rol_Lei Nut

Rol_Lei Nut Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format