Carbon Tissue Question

Discussion in 'Alternative Processes' started by Andrew O'Neill, May 28, 2009.

1. Andrew O'Neill

Andrew O'Neill Subscriber

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    Okay all you carbon printers out there...I'm just getting into carbon printing after a few years elbows deep in the kallitype process.
    I've ordered 200 bloom gelatin but can't wait for it to arrive. So, I mixed up some Knox stuff to make the glop. 80g of Knox went in distilled water and let it sit. Warmed it up to liquify it, added 15g of pigment (I used chunghwa ink for sumi), mixed well, added 45g of sugar and mixed well, poured in 50g of 99% isopropyl alcohol, and stirred for a few minutes. Let it all sit for an hour to dispel bubbles.

I poured the gelatin into the magnetic frame (about 1mm thickness). Let the gelatin set, pulled the frame off, and left it like that. Checked it this morning (had been sitting for about 16 hours). When I touch it, it's very cold and clammy...it's rubbery like jelly. The temp of the room is 24 C, humidity is about 60.

What is dried pigmented tissue supposed to look/feel like when it has "dried"?

2. Vaughn

Vaughn Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    Everything sounds pretty good. I assume you used a total of 1000ml water. Everyone works a little differently...I use Knox as my standard gelatin, but I use a bit over 110 grams per liter (11%), but the rest is about what I use..

Anyway, your tissue is not dry yet. Once set, I remove the tissue from where I pour it and tack it to a piece of cardboard. Then stand it upright (less chance of dust falling on it) and have a fan blowing air across it over night. If I do not use a fan, then it will still be rubbery like yours. After the fan over-night, I let the tissue air dry for a total of 48 hours before I use it. I am usually at 60 to 75% humidity, but rarely over 20C.

The surface has to be dry to the touch -- but as important, dry below the surface...which is why I wait the full 48 hours before use.