Chamonix 45n bellows not infrared proof?

Discussion in 'Large Format Cameras and Accessories' started by wildbill, Apr 28, 2009.

1. wildbill

wildbill Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I've got the standard bellows on my 45N. I recently started shooting efke infrared with this camera and the sheets mostly had zero detail as if they were very overexposed. I've never had these issues when using my other cameras. So today I was testing some expired 4x5 kodak HSI indoors at the window looking out. No direct light on the camera. Same results so I pulled the dark slide for a bit and left the shutter closed. The processed sheet is fogged everywhere except the rebate area.
    Just to be sure, I set up the same shot with the same lens using my 8x10 and a reducing back with the same film holder as before. I exposed and processed the film to find zero fog or funky density issues.

I'm going to try wrapping the bellows with my dark cloth but that's not always feasible in windy conditions.
    I'm guessing HSI is more prone to this issue than efke ir820. Anyone else having this issue?

2. archphoto

archphoto Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    And with standard B&W no problems ?
    I would contact Chamonix about it and see what they have to say......
    Never worked with IR before on 4x5" .

Peter

3. wildbill

wildbill Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    No fogging with any regular B+W or E-6 films. Unfortunately there's no way to contact the manufacturer directly. Their email goes directly to Hugo, an importer. I have contacted him but I doubt they are going to re-design their bellows (if that's the issue) for the few of us shooting these films.

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 28, 2009
  4. Jarvman

Jarvman Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I've shot very limited amounts of efke infrared with my chamonix 45n, rollfilm and sheet and haven't had problems so far. Not sure what the problem might be

5. JLP

JLP Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format