Changing film midroll on Mamiya 330f - possible?

Discussion in 'Medium Format Cameras and Accessories' started by Digidurst, Apr 9, 2005.

1. Digidurst

Digidurst Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Forgive me is this is a really dumb question but I'm new to this camera and still learning about it's capabilities. I was just thinking about a trip I'm getting ready to go on and I'll betcha ten bucks that there will be situations where I will want to shoot in color (I usually shoot in B&W).

So, is it possible?

Thanks in advance :smile:

2. David A. Goldfarb

David A. Goldfarb Moderator Staff Member Moderator

Shooter:
    Large Format
    Changing film midroll on a medium format camera without interchangeable backs is more trouble than it's worth. You've only got 12 6x6 shots on a roll anyway. If this is something you want to do often, consider a modular camera or a second body.

3. Dave Parker

Dave Parker Inactive

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I shot the mamiya 330 for years, and never found a reasonable way to do what you are thinking about, the only thing I ever did, was when I wanted to change rolls, was run it through the rest of the exposures, then remove and load anothe roll of film in the emulsion that I wanted to shoot, yes, I ended up with a bit of wasted film, but it was a cheap price to pay to get the shots I was able to get. If changing mid-roll is something you want to do regularly, then as David suggested, your best to get a camera with a removable back, which are surprisingly reasonable now a days.

Dave

4. Digidurst

Digidurst Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    That's what I was kinda thinkin' but it never hurts to ask - it's not uncommon for someone to have thought of something I did not :wink:

Thanks for your insight, Dave & David!

5. Digidurst

Digidurst Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hey, I have another dumb question regarding my Mamiya... Is it ok to change lenses while film is in the camera?

Thank you :smile: