Cold Light Help? Beseler 45 mb...Are they worth a darn?

Discussion in 'Darkroom Equipment' started by clineco, Sep 8, 2011.

1. clineco

clineco Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Lot's of knowledgeable people here it looks like and I was hoping somebody could help me out. :smile:

I bought a Beseler 45MXII this weekend and it came with a condenser head and also a cold light an old Beseler 45 mb. I've never used a cold head/light before, upon firing it up it shines a blueish color. Is this something that is usable on VC paper? Should I trash it and buy a color head? Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

2. ann

ann Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm
    That is a normal color for a cold light head.

There are lots of different opions about using it with VC papers, as it usually depends on which version you have. However, I have always used a cold light as my main light source, altho i have all three types. Generally I only use graded papers, but I have had students use this enlarger with VC papers and filters, and it worked fine.

I would never just trash it as I am sure there is someone around (here at least) that would take it off your hands.

ps. did you ask a similar question on another site? Or, there is a run on these enlargers and light sources LOL

3. paul ron

paul ron Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    A cold light is used with a difuser, not condensors, you'll need the white plastic disk to replace the large condensors.

I have the older cold light version (W45) n love it for greaded n VC papers. I do split filtered prints and feel I have so much more control.

I find without any filtration my VC paper respond like a greade 4 or 5. Then with a #1 KODAK gel filter I can bring in my softer highlight details.

If you ever consider selling it, please contact me, I can use a spare head?

4. M Stat

M Stat Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format