converting holga to 4x5"

Discussion in 'Camera Building, Repairs & Modification' started by Rock Poper, Jun 12, 2005.

1. Rock Poper

Rock Poper Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    hi

i am trying to connect one of my holgas to a 4x5" back, and i want to know if it is possible to take apart the lens and change the focal length or image circle by fiddling with the lens elements...

sorry, i'm new to large format and i also don't know much about lenses :wink:

paul

2. gma

gma Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    No.

3. Alex Hawley

Alex Hawley Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    I'm not sure a Holga lens has elements. Not sure why you want to try this project. I doubt the Holga has enough lens coverage anyway. If you want to have fun with it, get the polaroid back; no conversion required. If you want to start LF inexpensively, get a Graphic press camera. But don't try to weld the two together into one.

4. MattCarey

MattCarey Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
  5. jjstafford

jjstafford Inactive

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Buy ony old crappy 4x5, do not learn how to use it, break the lens and voila! Big Holga!

6. Mongo

Mongo Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    You forgot, "Make sure the film holder isn't quite seated correctly, so you get light leaks." :smile:

7. Rock Poper

Rock Poper Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    well i'm not so much looking for cheap as i am looking for strange :smile:

but thanks for the help

rock

8. BradS

BradS Subscriber

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    Oh...strange. Well, then just about any old LF camera will do. I guarantee, if you take a LF camera out in public, you'll get all kinds of strange....looks and questions that is...The bigger and older, the better. Try a restored Kodak 2d - not strange at all to us but, to the general public....it's down right certifiable. Try it and be sure to share your stories here in the lounge.

9. jnanian

jnanian Advertiser Advertiser

Shooter:
    Multi Format