cooke apochromatic process 25" is good for what?

Discussion in 'Large Format Cameras and Accessories' started by Randy Moe, Jul 12, 2012.

1. Randy Moe

Randy Moe Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I have access to a Cooke apochromatic process 25" series IX. I don't own it and it is not for sale. What are good uses for such a lens? I shoot my own Horseman 8X10 and have access to a Levy process camera and a Fotar 10 X 10 vertical enlarger. There will be more old lenses to try. The owner may be interested in it's worth, but so far he sells nothing. It look pretty clean to me. My longest lens is a Rodenstock APO-Ronar 480mm f:9. Is there anything to gain or learn in mounting the Cooke up? Obviously I am new to 8 X 10.

I do like shooting portraits with 4 X 5 and a 300mm. Perhaps I will need a the 25" to be happy at 8 X 10.

Random plinking welcome!

2. rthomas

rthomas Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm
    I wonder how big the image circle is on that lens? I used to run a process camera in a print shop, and we could expose film up to either 16" or 20" wide (can't remember which, it's been 18 years). That camera used a Nikkor 480mm f/9 Apo. I'd assume a ~625mm process lens would have serious coverage and could possibly be used on a camera larger than an 8x10.

3. johnielvis

johnielvis Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    good for close up portraits on the 8x10, dude--you need a shutter or cap off-strobe-cap on....I use 24" apo ronar for 11x14 (and the 600 fuji compacdt too)....if you got the bellows on your camera it'll work pretty nice....also probably good for use at infinity like other process lenses seem to be adequate for--you gotta try that out though...

4. Discoman

Discoman Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    Isn't the rule of thumb that a process lens has a coverage area two times the diagonal of the film used?
    I seem to recall that factoid being mentioned in a large format book.