Cross Processed Negs + Enlarging In Color Help

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by fiducio, May 10, 2009.

1. fiducio

fiducio Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    So, I'm pretty new at this whole darkroom thing. And young too. A few days ago was my first time in a color darkroom, and I was getting the hang of it. I made tons of prints and contact prints which were all a breeze.

So I decided I'd try my cross processed negs that I had brought with me. Without thinking too much, just to see how it'd turn out, I put all the dials to zero. And made a contact print. It was very very red and yellow, when it should have been very green because my negs were a yellow to ornage color.

So, people with more experience: maskless negs, how should they be printed? :[

Last edited by a moderator: May 10, 2009
  2. fiducio

fiducio Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Also, I know that since the normal c41 negs have the orange mask, does that mean that the color paper has a sensitivity to those colors to make it normal colors?
    And, let's say if I dial out magenta and yellow completely, and put in a B&W negative, how would it turn out?

3. Bob-D659

Bob-D659 Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Set your filters to zero, try it and find out. :smile: Don't forget to compensate for the needed decrease in exposure time.

4. fiducio

fiducio Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I did do that...

C=0,M=0,Y=0 made yellow prints...
    when adding cyan, it made it even more yellow...

5. Nick Zentena

Nick Zentena Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Yes the paper expects a mask.

How they should be printed is up to you. It's not like they will look "normal" so you've got the creative control.

6. 2F/2F

2F/2F Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format