Cyan cast on print

Discussion in 'Color: Film, Paper, and Chemistry' started by Matt5791, Nov 12, 2007.

1. Matt5791

Matt5791 Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I was doing some RA4 printing at the weekend - I'm quite new to this, but really enjoying it.

I was printing a particular negative. First print following test strip OK colour balance, but one area needed a little buring in.

So second print I burned in this area with a card and a hole.

When it comes out of the Durst Printo there is a clear Cyan cast, although nothing had been changed in the filtration and the temperatures had not changed either, infact there was only a matter of a few minutes inbetween the two prints being processed.

Third print, Cyan cast now gone

Any thoughts would be appreciated on what would appear to me to be a strange occurance, but I woudl guess there may well be a straightforward explanation for.

Thanks,
    Matt

2. Photo Engineer

Photo Engineer Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Fog, insufficient stop bath or hypo contamination on print.

Cyan fog from a safelight is most likely if it is uniform, but streaky cyan is one of the latter two.

PE

3. Matt5791

Matt5791 Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Thanks for that PE - I was wondering about fog - maybe I managed to fog the paper somehow, although I don't use a safe light.

4. pentaxuser

pentaxuser Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm
    Matt. If the process used and conditions prevailing were exactly the same on all occasions mentioned then this rules out most explanations.

I am assuming here that the burn sequence etc on the third print which was OK was exactly the same as on the second print with the cyan cast.

Almost suggests a faulty piece of paper as a one off but this seems unlikely.