Cyanotypes?

Discussion in 'Alternative Processes' started by wiseowl, Dec 28, 2006.

1. wiseowl

wiseowl Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    I'm interested in trying my hand at cyanotype, I've never done any alternative processes before so it's a little daunting.

I'm considering getting the Fotospeed kit as a starting point, can I ask your views on this? Does it represent value for money, are there better ways to get started and if not what are they. (UK based.)

Also, what should I aim for in a negative, normal, high or low contrast/density etc.

Any links to information also welcomed.

Thanks

Martin

2. Dave Miller

Dave Miller Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
  3. donbga

donbga Member

Shooter:
    Large Format Pan
    Purchase the required chemicals seperately, they are inexpensive. I personally prefer the traditional cyanotype formula over Ware's. Everyone crows about the DMAX you get with the Ware formula but you can get a very good DMAX with the traditional formula by using 2 parts A to 1 part B.

Use a good quality paper for best results.

4. Lukas Werth

Lukas Werth Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Get the chemicals from somewhere and mix them yourself.

May I refer you to my website (see below) for some instructions/hints? Look into the "technical issues". I will be ready to explain/ answer further questions.

5. Robert Hall

Robert Hall Subscriber

Shooter:
    ULarge Format
    Cyano is probably the easiest. Don't be daunted. If you have ever made something in the kitchen from scratch, you can do this.

Just don't sit a neg on a wet surface. Let it dry first. :smile:

6. smieglitz

smieglitz Member

Shooter:
    Large Format