darkroom chemistry bottle solutions

Discussion in 'Darkroom Equipment' started by phillip2446, Apr 14, 2013.

1. phillip2446

phillip2446 Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    hi

i am trying to figure out what i can store chemistry in.
    like say d76 or other chemicals like fixer.

can i use soda bottles or juice bottles to store the chemistry in?
    i believe they are pete bottles.

any advice would be appreciated

cheers

2. Mark Fisher

Mark Fisher Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    PETE or glass has the lowest oxygen permeability. With glass being best. It is really most important with developer.

3. Gerald C Koch

Gerald C Koch Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Look for a "1" in the recycle triangle symbol or the letters PETE just under it .

4. jeffreyg

jeffreyg Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Brown glass pharmacy bottles can't be beat. I've been using the same ones for almost forty years. Check with your pharmacist he may give you some. That's how I got mine and they have calibrating lines to boot.

http://www.jeffreyglasser.com/

5. fotch

fotch Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Several years ago I tried several pharmacy's and they all said everything now comes in plastic.

6. 131802

131802 Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Several threads on APUG address this issue. The take-home message was that there's no need for brown glass unless you store your developer in direct sunlight. Mine's in the dark closet that I call my darkroom. D76 gets stored in one-liter mason jars.One-shot developers like HC110 completely avoid the storage problem because the unmixed syrup lasts a really long time.

7. johnielvis

johnielvis Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    quart beer bottles with screw on caps. Green or brown. They are designed to keep the beer safe from the harms of light and will do your developer just as well.

take the labels off or put x's on them lest you grab one when you're all out of beer and swig a bit of dev.

8. cliveh