Darkroom Paint

Discussion in 'Darkroom Equipment' started by ChrisW, May 16, 2006.

1. ChrisW

ChrisW Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I am about to expand my darkroom and was wondering if there is a benefit to painting the walls and ceiling black. Also, should I use a black counter tops as well? I have been printing in a white painted darkroom for four years, but have no way of knowing of its effect on the image.

Chris

2. Monophoto

Monophoto Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Chris -

The subject of darkroom wall color has been debated many times. The key point is that a darkroom is dark because there are no active light sources in it. I prefer white walls because they reflect and even out the light from the safelights, making it possible for me to actually see to get work done.

In general, I think you want to try to manage any spurious light sources in the darkroom - leaks from the enlarger, etc. Part of that management may include painting the walls behind the enlarger a flat black. I chose to make the ceiling over the enlarger white and to point a safelight toward that ceiling to provide general illuimination around the enlarging station.

3. jovo

jovo Membership Council Council

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I agree that the walls can and should remain light. The area around the enlarger can be 'papered' with large sheets of black construction paper which has a very matte surface and reflects nothing. You retain a degree of flexibility that way as well if you should move your enlarger.

4. Wally H

Wally H Member

Shooter:
    Med. Format RF
    I use a matt black paint around the enlarger station(s), walls & ceiling. The rest of the darkroom neutral white (gloss for ease of cleaning).

5. metod

metod Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format