darkroom V paying

Discussion in 'Darkroom Equipment' started by bob2, Nov 23, 2007.

1. bob2

bob2 Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Im quite new to photography and a darkroom is a long way off but I was curios what the benefits were of doing it myself.

2. PHOTOTONE

PHOTOTONE Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
  3. bob2

bob2 Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    good reason

4. Removed Account

Removed Account Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    For me it is the experience of being totally responsible for the image. I think in many ways I enjoy the darkroom work more than making negatives. To go with the old musician's analogy, to me getting lab prints made would be like writing a song without playing it yourself. There may be better players out there, but the learning and sense of accomplishment of taking an image from beginning to completion is tremendous. I love that I can take 1 negative and create many different versions of the same image, some that hardly look alike! It never gets old seeing the image come out in the developer, anticipating the results of my enlarger hand dance. Also it can be cheaper to make prints yourself rather than have a lab do it, but this is not necessarily so. To me the cost of experimenting is well worth it.

- Justin

5. bob2

bob2 Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    makes alot of sense.Very much like my tying my own flies for fishing.

6. DougGrosjean

DougGrosjean Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I live in a small rural town. It's quicker (and cheaper) for me to develop my own b/w than to use the car or motorcycle to go to town and wait, or to go to town, drop off film, and go to town again a few days later.

I get results right away, and I can alter the output / product as well.

Plus, learning to do my own b/w has made it possible for me to play with push-processing, as well as large-format, and contact printing.

7. DarkroomExperimente

DarkroomExperimente Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format