developing 4x5 sheet film

Discussion in 'Large Format Cameras and Accessories' started by MarcoGiardini, Nov 18, 2010.

1. MarcoGiardini

MarcoGiardini Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    i'm new to LF and i use at the moment a jobo tank/ reel to develop the films. The reel can keep up to 6 sheets and the tanks need 1.5 liter to develop (never mind if inside is one sheet or 6 sheets).
    I'm wandering if there is the possibility to develop using less solution. Most of the time I do not have 6 sheets to develop but only 2 or 4 and 1500 cc is really a lot.
    Thanks for your help

marco

2. kauffman v36

kauffman v36 Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    not exactly sure how the jobo tanks work but every tank ive seen you need to fill it to capacity to evenly deelop the film, regardless of the amount of film. If you only have 1 or 2 sheets to develop maybe try tray processing.

The point of the tank being full is that the 1 or 2 sheets you have in the tank need to be covered with developer at all times or else youll get very uneven development.

3. thicktheo

thicktheo Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    If you have the typical 25xx Jobo tank with the 2509 reel, you can do manual rolling and only use ~300ml of developer. However, this would require you to keep rolling the tank for as long as the development process takes place.

4. Ian Grant

Ian Grant Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    My Jobo 2000 tanks only need 1 litre per 6 sheet reel, I use Pyrocat HD which works out very economic even with that volume of dev.

However you might be better off using a replenished developer, Xtol would be ideal as uniquely you replenish with fresh developer. There one or two recent threads on replenishing Xtol and it's what I did for about 20 years, very economic and consistent and the volume you need in the tank us unimportant (as long as the film is covered).

Ian

5. MarcoGiardini

MarcoGiardini Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format