Developing film--fixer remover?

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by cesrig, Jun 19, 2009.

1. cesrig

cesrig Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I'm a photo student home from for the summer. I'm planning on developing some 120 film in my bathroom. Just to refresh myself I was reading Ilford's developing guide (http://www.ilfordphoto.com/applications/page.asp?n=31) and I noticed that they don't use fixer remover. I've been using Sprint Systems chemicals for developing film which as a last step before final wash includes fixer remover.

What's the deal with fixer remover and film? Is it necessary/depend on the fixer? I'm definitely not going to be using Sprint stuff while I'm home, so I suddenly feel "in the dark" again...

Thanks

2. PhotoJim

PhotoJim Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Using a fixer remover or hypo clearing agent lets you use a shorter wash time. It's an extra step, but it saves a lot of water and results in finished negatives more quickly.

If you don't mind a long wash, there's no need for it. Also, if you use an alkaline fixer (such as Photographer's Formulary TF-4) a short wash is fine even without a hyp clearing agent step, but alkaline fixers are more costly than acid fixers.

3. Anscojohn

Anscojohn Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Fixer washes out of film rather quickly; unless speed, or water saving is an absolute necessity, any kind of hypo-eliminator for film is not a necessity.

4. Christopher Walrath

Christopher Walrath Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I use the 5-10-20 rinse method. Fill tank with water, invert 5 times, empty. Fill, invert 10 times, empty. Fill, invert 20 times, empty. Maybe a minute with Photo Flo and then hang to dry. Rinsing is fast and a lot less water is used.

5. ntenny

ntenny Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format