Developing Kodak T-Max400

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by SeamonsterBG, Apr 6, 2009.

1. SeamonsterBG

SeamonsterBG Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I am brand new to developing my own film. I was looking at fixers and saw that there is hardening and non-hardening fixer. Does T-max400 need the hardening fixer? Any help would be great, thanks.

2. Barry S

Barry S Subscriber

Shooter:
    Large Format
    TMAX 400 is a modern film that doesn't need a hardening fixer, so use whatever is convenient for you.

3. Christopher Walrath

Christopher Walrath Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry9000/4.6.0.167 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/102 UP.Link/6.3.0.0.0)

I use 'odak Indicator SB. Film takes about 2.5 min to clear. I fix for 5.5 min and agitate same as developer.

4. Thomas Bertilsson

Thomas Bertilsson Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    No you don't need hardening fixer. But as with anything gelatin, it can only withstand so much stress and impact, so I suggest to use care whatever fixer you decide on.
    Something you will notice with Tmax films is that they will have a pink / magenta cast when it comes out of the fixer. You can fix it for longer to eliminate the cast (just time it, see how long it takes) or you should be able to wash it out afterward. The pink cast will not hurt your printing any, but if you're like me it'll drive you nuts anyway. So with Tmax films I fix for seven minutes until the capacity of the fixer is spent.
    I agitate continuously during fixing. With a daylight tank it's a good workout. :smile: And congratulations on your film of choice. It's excellent product.

- Thomas

5. SeamonsterBG

SeamonsterBG Member

Shooter:
    35mm