Development problems with HC110

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by dvanlondon, Nov 17, 2008.

1. dvanlondon

dvanlondon Member

Shooter:
    Med. Format RF
    I've been using HC110 as my standard developer for several years, with Diafine, Tanol and Neofin Blau as occasional alternatives. HC110 has always been a dependable choice if sometimes a little unrefined for my tastes. However, the last few rolls I've put through, several different films, several different cameras, all suffer from the same issue - pale oblong clouds along the top edge of the film. At first I thought this might be as a result of air bubbles, so I developed a single film in a full tank so the bubbles should be far away from the film, and used very careful light agitation. Exactly the same problem. Does anyone have any ideas what might be causing this?

I attach an image as an example - as direct from the scanner without any changes (there seems to be uneven development on the right edge too, but I think that's just the film not being flat in the carrier)

Attached Files:

2. CPorter

CPorter Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    Strange, the spots are light in the negative scan , so they have density on the negative. What format, you said a "single film" so I assume sheet film.

3. JBrunner

JBrunner Moderator Staff Member Moderator

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    That looks like a light leak happening somewhere, to me, particularly because of how they superimpose one another.

4. Photo Engineer

Photo Engineer Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    What is the blemish on the right edge? Looks like 2 problems to me.

The ones across the top are heavier development for some reason, or light fog as they are denser.

PE

5. wogster

wogster Member

Shooter:
    35mm